EFA “deficiency” In Real Life

ilikecats

Hey I’ve been eating less than .1 grams of PUFA (almost everyday with few exceptions) for the last year+ and I developed some wicked eczema over the last 3 months and it’s still problematic despite interventions. What could be going on here? I’m getting a lot of B6 and zinc (ray says zinc and B6 deficiencies are the likely causes of skin issues seen in PUFA depletion experiments. Increased metabolism= increased nutrient requirements and all that). Has anyone gone this low on PUFA for this amount of time? I still think rays arguments on there being no such thing as EFA deficiency (or rather that it’s a good thing) are sound but naturally I’m starting to get a little bit skeptical. I can comprehend rays articles on PUFAs but I am still a layman primarily relying on my own experiments/experience. And this might sound odd but I’m getting a little frustrated with the people who claim that PUFA isn’t essential in any amount (disclaimer: I agree with them) but then proceed to eat 3-4-5 grams of PUFA a day and have never really tested extreme PUFA restriction for themselves for a significant amount of time.

I’ve also read in the Peatosphere that excess iron has been known to cause eczema. Someone reported donating blood a couple of times and the eczema went away. I’ll try to find the reference for you.

benaoao

what's your ferritin like

and DHA is absolutely essential. The perfect health diet/blog recommends 1-4% of calories from PUFAs and that's fine.

OP
I

ilikecats