Eckhart Tolle's A New Earth

Pet Peeve

Are you familiar with Eckhart Tolle's A New Earth? I'm curious what you guys think. I've been carrying this book around with me now for six years, never get enough of it. It's about how the mind is structured.

mt_dreams

it's a decent rehashing of ideas. I've read both the book you mentioned and the power of now back when I was in uni.

PhilParma

Intellectuals find it to be lightweight fluff, but thankfully I'm not very smart, so it did reshape the way I view the world quite a bit. I remember reading it for the first time and nodding my head vehemently in agreement the entire time. Once food and shelter needs are met, a vast majority of the human MO is ego/self-image enhancement. People want (need?) to feel big/important/special, etc. It made me see nearly everything people do through that lens. True modesty is incredibly rare.

Tarmander

I went and saw him speak one time and he said something pretty interesting. He said he very rarely says anything that is really disagreeable or belief based. In other words there isn't much you can disagree with that he says. He points at realty and says "look" but in a very poignant way. The people who do disagree with him have usually made up some argument that they think he's making. The whole book is a very long way of saying "this, just this.."

He's the German Deepak Chopra. He's spiritual-ing all the way to the bank.

e.jpg