Does DHT Increase Or Decrease Serum Testosterone?

ddjd

I've read conflicting things online about this issue. Would be interesting to hear what you all think

opethfeldt

DHT in higher doses is known to reduce testosterone through negative feedback with the HTPA. However, because DHT lowers estrogen and thus SHBG, you'd end up with more free testosterone. I'm not sure how much relevance that has in how you feel, as Peat claims that both free and bound hormones are bioavailable.

OP
ddjd

ddjd

DHT in higher doses is known to reduce testosterone through negative feedback with the HTPA. However, because DHT lowers estrogen and thus SHBG, you'd end up with more free testosterone. I'm not sure how much relevance that has in how you feel, as Peat claims that both free and bound hormones are bioavailable.
so is lower SHBG a good thing?

opethfeldt

so is lower SHBG a good thing?
I'm far from an expert but from what I gather, it's best for it to be at a balanced level. Not too high or low. But, given that estrogen increases it, my instincts tell me it's probably better to have on the lower end of the scale.

OP
ddjd

ddjd

I'm far from an expert but from what I gather, it's best for it to be at a balanced level. Not too high or low. But, given that estrogen increases it, my instincts tell me it's probably better to have on the lower end of the scale.
just got this from haidut;
"It's been discussed many times on the forum (dht reducing test). Leydig cells express androgen receptor and studies have shown it is involved in negative feedback mechanism of T synthesis. DHT is very good at activating that receptor, more so than T. Also, some strong androgens are inhibitors of 17b-HSD3, which is needed to synthesize T. I have not seen anything about DHT inhibiting 17b-HSD3 but I 5a-androstanediol has been shown to be inhibitory and it is a metabolite of DHT."

Baltazar

I don't think it decrease or increase