Does Coffee Have To Be "organic And Specialty Grade" Freshly Ground Beans?

livesimply

So, I've been drinking coffee for over 40 years, and recently I've seen some articles about the dangers of drinking anything but organic, speciality grade coffee that you grind fresh shortly before drinking. The stuff is expensive, and I really like my ground coffee—it tastes great, is easy to brew, and not too pricey. Do you think it's THAT harmful? I've had no adverse effects from it that I am aware of. I typically have 3 cups a day with light cream and sugar.

Thanks!

I never really notice feeling bad from even the cheapest coffee, but definitely freshly ground grade A coffee makes me feel the best! :)

x-ray peat

It depends on how much you think pesticides are dangerous. Some people are more sensitive than others but generally non-organic coffee uses a lot of pesticides. If you dont grind your own coffee from the whole bean you lose a lot of flavor and also some of the healthy phenols/aromatics. BJs has a very good organic coffee that you can buy in bulk that's much cheaper than usual. Trader Joes organic coffee is pretty reasonable as well.

EndAllDisease

If you want to maximize nutriton content of the coffee and minimize the chances of agri poisons in your coffee then yes it's probably a good idea.

However, I've heard ray say on one of his radio show appearances that running water through coffee is a great way to chelate chemicals from it. "You put unclean water in to the coffee machine and out comes clean coffee."

smith

It depends on how much you think pesticides are dangerous. Some people are more sensitive than others but generally non-organic coffee uses a lot of pesticides. If you dont grind your own coffee from the whole bean you lose a lot of flavor and also some of the healthy phenols/aromatics. BJs has a very good organic coffee that you can buy in bulk that's much cheaper than usual. Trader Joes organic coffee is pretty reasonable as well.