Differences In Incandescent Lights

J

j.

I went to the store and was looking at incandescent lights. Some of them were labelled "soft white". Others were labelled "spot". What are the differences between these lights from a Peat/wavelength perspective?

charlie

The Law & Order Admin
You want a clear bulb so all the light gets through. The soft white are probably painted.

J

j.

Do you know what the paint does from a health perspective?

charlie

The Law & Order Admin
It blocks light. Making it less effective.

J

j.

Charlie said:

I see. You're right, I just looked at the one that says "soft white" and it is painted. Ha, I'm a noob on lights.

J

j.

They also had one they called "reading light" which was painted blue. It seems like a bad idea.

charlie

The Law & Order Admin
Yeh, you want to go for clear light bulbs with no paint for optimal light output.

narouz

j. said:
Charlie said:

I see. You're right, I just looked at the one that says "soft white" and it is painted. Ha, I'm a noob on lights.

j.-
The cheapest incandescent for the most power in the Peat-correct wavelengths (600-850nm)
is a clear-glass 300 watt bulb made by Sylvania
for like around $4.
It doesn't have an internal reflector (like a spot- or flood-light)
so you need one of those: around $10.
I got them both a Lowe's.
So 300 watts o' Peat Power for about $13.
Not too bad.
Charlie put me onto this rig. :salute

charlie

The Law & Order Admin
narouz, he is in another country so not sure that it would be the same voltage and stuff???

narouz

Charlie said:
narouz, he is in another country so not sure that it would be the same voltage and stuff???

Oh yeah...forgot.
I think j. is a South American.
I don't know nothin' 'bout no South American voltages. :oops:

J

j.

I got my 200W clear bulb for $1. I don't know if it's the right wavelength though. I suppose they aren't likely to emit much blue light.

charlie

The Law & Order Admin
If it's a regular ole incandescent bulb you are fine.

narouz