Date Vanilla Milk Shake

mimi

Hey y'all!

I'm pretty new to the Peat-universe… so, it could very well be the case that I don't get all the principles etc. – be patient with me, ya? ;)

I thought I'd share a recipe, one I have just created for lunch.

Date Vanilla Milk Shake

Ingredients:
– 1 1/2 cups of grass-fed milk (1,5 %, pasteurized)
– 5 big medjool dates
– pinch of salt
– 1 tsp (refined) coconut oil
– 1/4 tsp vanilla powder (I guess vanilla extract would work, too)
– 2 egg yolks (free-range, organic)

This is how I did it:
I threw all the ingredients in my handy dandy high speed blender and let it all blend on medium for a few seconds.
Pretty good blender. Texture is really creamy, no lumps. I don't know how it would turn out with an inversion blender… maybe a bit lumpy?

Anyway. It's delicious. Sweet, creamy, vanilla-y. Like room-temperature ice cream milk shake.

It would be great to add some gelatin powder to this, I think, but right now I simply can't get over the fact that this stuff comes from animal skin, so it will take some time to get used to it. Gelatin makes me gag; not because of the taste – it's pretty natural, doesn't smell or anything. I'm using the hydrolyzed collagen; I wish I could just forget the thought that it comes from a dead animal. :( I am not vegetarian anymore, also don't want to be one anymore. (Was a vegan/fruitarian for 6 years and vegetarian for over 10.)

Anyways… I contributed my first recipe on here! Yay! Have a great day everyone.

Effect of the shake described:
Happy thoughts, alertness, satiated.

charlie

Admin
The Law & Order Admin
Yum! :P

Mittir

Looks very tasty and nutritious.
It is a nice mix of several super foods in one drink.
Is that raw egg yolk or cooked?

OP
mimi

mimi

Mittir said:
Looks very tasty and nutritious.
It is a nice mix of several super foods in one drink.
Is that raw egg yolk or cooked?

the yolks are raw!! :) I like them best that way.

mt_dreams

Nice recipe.