Dairy / Lactose / Lactic Acid Phobia

O

oldfriend

Hey guys, I'm new to Peat-ing and am trying to establish a good baseline diet. Been doing OJ, gelatin, coconut oil, coffee with relative success but have hit a wall when it comes to incorporating dairy. I've had issues with it going back to my childhood: mucus, stuffy nose, sneezing, diarrhea, etc and did an ELISA allergy test that confirmed a moderate allergy to casein when I was 22 (now 30).

I've been off and on dairy for the entirety of my life, but never had a standard for high quality. I now want to make a sincere effort to adapt to it if I can. Problem is, an accumulation of bad experiences is preventing me from doing that.

I seem to be OK with goat milk yogurt and small amounts of raw goat cheddar and farmers cheese, but when I try to increase my intake I get digestive upset and a stuffy nose. I wonder if the lactic acid content of yogurt and farmers cheese is partially to blame.

I would like to try plain goat milk, or homemade cottage cheese but I know I have issues with the lactose. Is it a bad idea to use lacteeze drops to reduce the lactose content of my milk as it contains glycerin? I could also use Enzymedica Dairyassist and empty the capsules into the milk, but I'm not sure what ratio I would need to use as the two products seem to use different units of measurement.

Thanks BigYellowLemon. I'm hoping the switch to goat dairy will help with casein troubles.

There's still casein in goat milk.

Normally if you were having trouble with milk then I'd think trying goat milk would be worth a shot.

But if you got a test showing you're specifically allergic to casein, then all milk will invoke an immune response.

Though I have no idea how an ELISA test is run, what it mean, how valid it is, so who knows.

Goats milk is probably higher quality than cows, they don't have to homogenize it.

OP
O

oldfriend

The
There's still casein in goat milk.