Citric Acid Cycle, Question For Experts

Okay, this is going to come off as very crude so please excuse me as I am not a scientist by any means, my background is computer programming. Obviously I know the human body cannot derive that much energy value from citric acid compared to glucose, but I would like to know what value extracellular citrate and acetate has in relation to the krebs cycle, and potential ways to enhance it's efficacy.

Following is a list of my assumptions and unknowns. I know this will likely come off as laughable to anyone who is an expert, but I genuinely would like to know more!

1. Citric acid has 2.5 calories per gram. From what I have read, these calories are at the very least utilized somewhat by the liver:
Human Na+ -coupled citrate transporter: primary structure, genomic organization, and transport... - Abstract - Europe PMC
2. Dietary citric acid to some degree enters the bloodstream. What is the limiting factor here, bicarbonate producton in small intestine?
3. Clearly too much citrate in the blood would kill a person. Would slowly drinking citrate or sodium citrate throughout the day provide any significant boost to the krebs cycle?
3. From the bloodstream, extracellular citrate can enter the cytosol via the plasma membrane citrate transporter.
4. Once citrate has entered the cytosol, can it be used directly for energy in the krebs cycle?
5. Is there such a thing as a potential citrate reserve in the cytosol? Meaning, can the cytosol be perceived as 'deficient in citrate'? Or does all cellular citrate get used up / not stored for a rainy day simply by floating free in the cytosol...
6. Why is citrate not more readily used for energy? It seems like in terms of efficiency, being able to use citrate as fuel would have a lot of advantages to the energy burden of processing fat/carb/protein ultimately in to citrate....
7. On a similar note, how can other dietary acids e.g. malate or acetate potentially be used to optimize the krebs cycle?