"Biggest Loser" Contestants Regained Weight. Peat Perspective

Hi there

I'm new to the forum though I've been reading it for a few months. I am pretty new to my Peat journey. I am assembling some questions as I am needing some help to understand some issues. But in the meantime I am really trying to understand from a Peat perspective how to lose belly fat. I have a sedentary 'sit at desk' job/life. I am overweight and it is front belly and sides, some moobs. I want to lose it. Anyway, I read this article today: http://www.nytimes.com/2016/05/02/health/biggest-loser-weight-loss.html?_r=0 and I'm even more confused. What is the Peatatarian view on how a 40 year old with a fat belly and a fairly sedentary job loses that weight and keeps it off. Especially when we seem encouraged to eat more calories on a Peat style pro-thyroid diet.

DaveFoster

Burning more calories doesn't necessarily equate to an optimal metabolism. Elevated adrenaline, for example, results in large amounts of wasted energy.

Tarmander

I think the issue comes when trying to view things like this in isolation. The more I read of Peat and studies, the more I wonder if something like "losing belly fat," in the context it is usually talked about, is even possible. Can you really lose that belly fat without improving liver function? Can you lose belly fat without improving metabolism? I guess liposuction is an option....?

Blossom

Forum Supporter
The biggest loser contestants basically lived through famine conditions which is probably the reason for their suppressed metabolisms. If you haven't semi-starved like them it's possible you could have a different experience by making gradual and sensible changes while working on your metabolism.