Bad Experience With Glycine

Mobius 1

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting on the forum, and I would really appreciate your collective help. This forum has really been a fountain of knowledge for me and many others.

A few weeks ago I began to change my diet significantly (more protein and vegetables, less or no gluten) and was having sleeping troubles.

For the sleeping troubles as well as general health, I started supplementing amino acids, including Acetyl L-Carnitine, L-Arginine, L-Tryptophan, and Glycine, as well as Magnesium Glycinate and L-Theanine.

All of these supplements put me in a pretty good mood, and I was tolerating them pretty well.

After a few days, I decided to up my Glycine supplementation to about 4.5 grams, as I was still not getting great sleep.

On the first night I did this, I noticed little change in sleep.

On the second night, my sleep got a little worse, and along with that, some other symptoms:

-fatigue

-blunted emotions (not totally, but noticeably less fear, joy, anxiety or pleasure)

-numbness in the genitals

-a weaker urge to urinate; I still sense when I have to go to the bathroom, but just not as much as before

-less hunger pains or appetite

-I use to get small muscle spasms, but they are much weaker now (so I guess you could say that that was an improvement haha)

These are the main symptoms. I have been off the supplements for just two days, so I'm not expecting any improvement yet.

But I'm wondering, what could the issue be? I saw a user post something about ammonia, could that be the cause, excess Or inflammation?

Also, I have been slowly adjusting my diet to include more sugars, a la Ray Peat's suggestions, and I feel that that has helped with sleep to some degree.

Any advice you could give would be great.

Recoen

Will you share why you’re taking the ALCAR and tryptophan?

TopGun1911