Backpacking Foods

Buddo

Greetings everybody. I’m new to the form and this is my first post. I’m new to eating with the principles from repeat but I’m enjoying it very much after having been on the low carb carnivore diet for years. I’m going backpacking with my boys I was wondering what would be the best energy providing meals. A lot of backpacking food or cheap starches like pasta and granola bars and grill raisins and peanuts. Avoiding the nuts in the starches, what would be some good trail snacking food or meals I could prepare that would Be balanceed in macro nutrients while providing enough energy for backpacking question thanks.

schultz

I'd probably bring powdered milk. 25g equals 1 cup of milk. A kilogram would give you 40 cups of milk, or 10 litres approximately. @ 2 litres a day that would give 5 days worth along with 66g of protein and nearly 100g of carbohydrates per day.

On top of that I would bring gelatin, sugar and instant coffee (I currently drink the 'premium' Tim Hortons brand. I switched from Nescafe 'Taster's Choice' which is also good. The Nescafe Tasters Choice decaf is probably the best tasting instant IMO)

Coffee would supply you with minerals (magnesium, potassium) and a small amount of vitamins as well.

Those potato flakes might be worth considering. Not sure if they are recommended or not but I'd probably bring them because they actually taste pretty good (especially when you've been hiking all day). Bring some coconut oil and salt to add to it and if your gelatin is hydrolyzed you can add that to the potatoes.

Beef jerky.

It's hiking food so it's not going to be as ideal as eating fresh food but it's still decent.

Raisins maybe? Most dried fruit doesn't agree with me but raisins I do. Those 'yogurt' covered raisins usually have a layer of hydrogenated oils on them. Bonus!