An Antidepressant Drug For 50+ Dad, Need Quick Help

TreasureVibe

Hi there. I need quick suggestions for anti-depressant measures in the form of drugs and supplements for my slightly overweight dad. He took olanzepine before prescribed by his psychiatrist and nearly died in the hospital due to a thromboembolism induced by the olanzepine. Now he is taking it again!

He most likely has psychiatric illness, borderline and narcissistic, antisocial and histrionic personality disorder. (He floats in between these, cluster B personality disorders)

Quick suggestions are highly appreciated, and the best would be a drug and/or supplement that poses no thrombotic risk!

Thanks!

tara

Remember I'm no expert, just ideas.

Include in diet fruits/juice/vegetables, sufficient protein, calories, etc.
A little B-vits. Maybe magnesium or other minerals or vitamins, depending on what's missing.
Sunshine daily.
Outdoor movement - eg walks daily.
Buteyko method - starting with chin strap at night if mouth breathing.

Monitor body temps. See if thyroid lab tests have been done, and look at the numbers. If these indicate low thyroid, consider cautious small thyroid supp (and only very slow titration).
Maybe a little pregnenolone, as above.

Maybe coffee.

Any chance you can get him involved with you in some beneficial , enjoyable project, without risking him creating more difficulties for yourself and other people with his personality habits?

Medicines - maybe look into and consider, starting in small doses:
- SSREs (E = Enhancer, not to be confused with I= Inhibitor)

Blossom

Forum Supporter
Tianeptine - Wikipedia
This is an example of an SSRE. You can read about forum members experiences using the the search function for "tianeptine"

OP
T

TreasureVibe

Maybe coffee.

Any chance you can get him involved with you in some beneficial , enjoyable project, without risking him creating more difficulties for yourself and other people with his personality habits?