Am New Post Menopausal Weight Gain

kkrtype

I am new to this post and need help. I am post menopausal and 52 and gaining weight. Trying to do Peat because of estrogen dominance. Had breast cancer three years ago, it was Grade Zero, so all was okay after surgery and radiation. I am not taxing tamoxifin as I am more naturopathic and going that way with supervision. I am thinking of getting progesterone....but my question is how to lose weight on Peat with the estogren going down hopefully. And how do I know if my thyroid is up or down or slow, etc? Please help! Thanks!!! :)

tara

:welcome kkrtype

I'm glad you succeeded in sending that breast cancer packing. Congratulations.

You can measure temperature and pulse a few times a day including particularly first thing on waking and about an hour after breakfast for a few days to give some information about general thyroid metabolism. You can look up lists of hypothyroid symptoms, and see how many you match. One is a tendency to cold hands and feet.

I'm not going to advise on deliberate weight loss, but it might happen or slow down the gain - no guarantees. Peat has suggested a couple of quarts of 1% milk and a quart of OJ as a basis for a diet. Amongst other things, he says calcium in milk is helpful, and sugars from fruit and milk and honey are likely to be more metabolism stimulating than starches, so he tends to suggest not eating much starch. Here's an interview transcript you might find interesting: viewtopic.php?f=73&t=5434

Different people here have differing experiences. Personally, I tend to take the approach of trying to improve metabolism, and letting weight find where it wants to be.

OP
K

kkrtype

Thank you so much. I will look at that post. Yes, I did the regular treatment for the bc, but I hired a naturopathic doctor and a kinesilogist and I breezed through the treatment, not having any of the side effects that most of the women had. Thank God!