All things CO2

experimenter

Hi

I am new to Peat's work, and am particularly keen on how some of the strategies he advocates lead to increased CO2 production. For those who are actively seeking to increase CO2 production/tolerance and are measuring their progress, what do you find has been most helpful to you?

I have been using the Frolov device, and combining the Buteyko principle of reduced breathing with qigong or yoga practice. Both qigong and yoga have favourable effects on the nervous system and endocrine system, which seems to make the reduced breathing more effective and the effect more sustained.

Nauli kriya is also an excellent practice from yoga that stimulates the digestive system and involves long breath holds combined with muscular contractions...this is difficult to learn from a book, and can be dangerous if practiced incorrectly, so I am using the Umaa Tantra dvd set and getting good results. This seems to be much more effective than Frolov/reduced breathing, as it improves the health of the digestive system, which in turn may reduce inflammation and other processes occurring the digestive system that could negatively impact breathing. It also massively reduces stress which we obviously want to do too! Early days for me in using this technique but it is becoming one of my favourite methods to increase CO2.

Also, I am wondering if others have noticed the tendency for the CO2 levels/control pause to slide back to low levels if you cease practicing for a brief period? This has been my biggest gripe with the Buteyko method as it is a constant effort to keep CP up.

I was low carbing before so perhaps now I am using other strategies to keep CP up things will be more easy to maintain. However if others have noticed this trend and have overcome it I am wondering how you managed to do this (maintain a high CP with minimal time investment)?

Have a good day!

tara

Hi,