Acetazolamide As A Diuretic?

ReneeAnn

Hi! I'm new to RP, but loving what I'm learning. I started at the first Danny Roddy podcast and am about 2/3 of the way through and learning so much!

My husband has high blood pressure and is on Amlodipine Besylate/Benazepril HCL 5-40 mg and Hydrochlorothiazide 25 mg as a diuretic. Hadiut said on one of the podcasts that he didn't like most diuretics, but if you need one Acetazolamide is a good one. Since it was a podcast, I just wanted to confirm that I heard the right med and ask for any comments or advice. Thanks in advance.

keith

Bump to @haidut who is probably best equipped to answer.

OP
ReneeAnn

ReneeAnn

Thank you! I see I misspelled his name and didn't know the @ worked here.

keith

Thank you! I see I misspelled his name and didn't know the @ worked here.
This is the only forum I've ever posted on, so still learning the ropes myself :)

OP
ReneeAnn

ReneeAnn

This is the only forum I've ever posted on, so still learning the ropes myself :)

It's been years since I've been in a forum and forgot how it works. Where's the "like" button?! Lol

Dopamine

Yes Acetazolamide "Diamox" is a diuretic. I took it when I went to Everest Base Camp. I had no side effects except I needed to drink more fluids and was peeing a lot.

Vitamin B1 (thiamine) can probaly be used instead of acetazolamide as they have some similar actions. Check out this thread:
Thiamine Is A Carbonic Anhydrase Inhibitor As Effective As Acetazolamide

sweetpeat said:
"Would taking thiamine at those levels also have a diuretic effect similar to acetazolamide?"

Haidut said:
"IF it does indeed inhibit carbonic anhydrase, then yes, it will have diuretic effect. Acetazolamide is a diuretic due to the increase in CO2, which extracts water from the cells and sends to the kidneys to excrete together with bicarbonate."

OP
ReneeAnn

ReneeAnn