3rd - 4th Degree Burn

Hi,

I got a 3rd - 4th degree burn over my right hand. The doctor will patch me up tomorrow.

I have been doing gymnastics on a professional level. I heard that 3rd - 4th degree burns can damage the tendons, ligaments and muscles.

Do you think they may be damaged and scar tissue could occur? As you know they play a big role in gymnastics and my right hand's grip already feels significantly weaker which might be just placebo.

Thanks in advance.

tankasnowgod

Hi,

I got a 3rd - 4th degree burn over my right hand. The doctor will patch me up tomorrow.

I have been doing gymnastics on a professional level. I heard that 3rd - 4th degree burns can damage the tendons, ligaments and muscles.

Do you think they may be damaged and scar tissue could occur? As you know they play a big role in gymnastics and my right hand's grip already feels significantly weaker which might be just placebo.

Thanks in advance.

It very well could occur. Can you wrap the hand in Aluminum Foil until your doctor's visit tomorrow? I've heard people say that has made a tremendous difference in pain reduction and healing, possibly by displacing heat and/or electron flow (and it might help build up CO2 in the area).

OP
H
It very well could occur. Can you wrap the hand in Aluminum Foil until your doctor's visit tomorrow? I've heard people say that has made a tremendous difference in pain reduction and healing, possibly by displacing heat and/or electron flow (and it might help build up CO2 in the area).

Thanks will try that.

OP
H
Thanks guys for the suggestions.

Will do that!

I'm just worried about the tendons. Will
they be fine? Sorry for the paranoid question, I'm just obsessed with the sport.

akgrrrl