14 Year Old Girl With Depression On Prozac What Do

She cries a lot, and is very sensitive. Shatters from criticism.

Has said she feels like killing herself.

Her mother is BPD and I think the girl has estrogen issues. Lot of fat around thighs and hips.

There is a strong psychological component but I'm interested in the hormonal aspect.

I'm thinking progest-e would be beneficial..yes?

Rand56

Her mother is BPD and I think the girl has estrogen issues. Lot of fat around thighs and hips.

There is a strong psychological component but I'm interested in the hormonal aspect.

I'm no doctor, but I would pay serious attention to the warning sign. I had MDD many years ago, and Prozac for me was the absolute worst AD I took. Could not handle the side effects. Extremely anxious and agitated. Of course the doc told me to hang in there with it, but there was no way in h*** I was going to do that. I told the doc to get me off of it. See if he doc is willing to do the same. Why take a chance on something more seriously happening.

paymanz

I'm not knowledgeable about progesterone, but my suggestion is to check her diet to make sure its balanced, some minerals and vitamins deficiencies may have symptoms like that.

Also hypothyroidism may be a suspect.

Dhair

Poor girl.
It's important for someone close to the situation to stay on top of this. When I was that age I was on SSRIs and I had similar feelings but I didnt know how to solve the problem. I just assumed that the adults know best.
Would it be difficult to convince the mother to stop giving her Prozac?

OP
pimpnamedraypeat
Poor girl.
It's important for someone close to the situation to stay on top of this. When I was that age I was on SSRIs and I had similar feelings but I didnt know how to solve the problem. I just assumed that the adults know best.
Would it be difficult to convince the mother to stop giving her Prozac?