Stroke Recovery

Torito

Hello everybody. First post but have been reading the forum for years.

My grandfather recently had a stroke. He has survived but is recovering in hospital and has lost the use of his left side. He is on daily aspirin but has been told he cannot stay on this due to side effects (I have told him this is not true).

I have read a few studies on niacinamide having positive effect on brain recovery after a stroke but was wondering if anyone has any other ideas or studies to show pro metabolic drugs/ supplements having a positive effect on stroke recovery?

I'm quite inclined to give him niacinamide and maybe pregnenolone after he gets out of hospital to aid his recovery but need some ideas on dosage. I have used both before (and many other substances suggested on this forum) on myself with positive results so not a complete beginner with them.

Many thanks.

"A generous supply of glycine/gelatin, against a balanced background of amino acids, has a great variety of antistress actions. Glycine is recognized as an “inhibitory” neurotransmitter, and promotes natural sleep. Used as a supplement, it has helped to promote recovery from strokes and seizures, and to improve learning and memory." -Ray Peat

OP
T

Torito

"A generous supply of glycine/gelatin, against a balanced background of amino acids, has a great variety of antistress actions. Glycine is recognized as an “inhibitory” neurotransmitter, and promotes natural sleep. Used as a supplement, it has helped to promote recovery from strokes and seizures, and to improve learning and memory." -Ray Peat

Thanks. I might start making him some jelly/jello and taking it into hospital for him. He is having.trouble sleeping so may help.

HDD

This is an old post by Peatarian: