Im Curious- What Do You Eat?

linnae

Im new to this diet and im learning as much as i can but im getting a little discouraged, while i believe in Dr Peat's dietary principles and i find that the science behind it seems sound, I have many food sensitivities and a lot of the foods he advocates are foods I do not do well with. For example, i have had dairy and orange juice allergies since i was a child. I cant do seafood or eggs either due to sensitivities. This paints a bleak picture of what is then 'allowed'.
So, im curious for those who dont do dairy, oj, seafood, or eggs what do you replace those foods with?
And for you long time Peat-ers, can you successfully do this diet with these restrictions?
Also, i would love to see some samples of what a typical days food looks like for you- restrictions or not.

milk_lover

Almost everyday: milk, OJ, coffee, sugar, coconut oil, gelatin/glycine, lamb with some starch like white bread or rice, and of course salt to taste

Occasionally: liver, seafood, chocolate

I cannot see myself enjoy Peat diet without milk and coffee to be honest. I have days without OJ. That's ok. I don't bother with eggs as I am also sensitive to the soya inside them.

Tenacity

I eat apples, dates, coconuts, grapes, oranges, milk, cheese, coffee, liver and mussels daily. I feel great!

Emstar1892

Root vegetable soups, meat stews, vegetables with coconut oil, cod, haddock, oysters, crab, prawns, chicken, honey, mango, pineapple. I'm also a sucker for oats - love oatmeal and oatcakes. Also, I have sardines now and again.

Just a couple thoughts. Peat suggests eggshell calcium if you can't do milk but I don't know if people who are allergic to eggs can do that. Otherwise a good calcium supplement.
And with milk if it is a true allergy there is not much you can do but if you have an intolerance that may be something that improves with a Peaty diet.