Country Life Calcium Magnesium

Watson350

I have trigeminal neuralgia or ethmoidal nerve damage and boswellia extract along with biotin has almost completely dissipated my discomfort. I am currently on a diet and decided to cut back on milk and cheese and take a supplement for my calcium instead. My died is high in blueberries, chicken, bananas, diet soda, vegetables and coffee. Today when I added the calcium magnesium country life pill this stirred up my inflammation for the first time in weeks. Am I getting sufficient calcium from another source I am not privy to and thus over indulging in the pro-inflammatory calcium composition of my diet?

tara

Hi.
Sorry about the nerve issues. Doesn't sound like fun. Glad you've found things that give you some relief. (I don't have neuralgia, but my trigeminal nerve does kick me around regularly.)

I'm no expert, so don't take this as expert opinion, but I think Peat has expressed reservations about citrate, and I think aspartate may be tend to be a nerve stimulant - maybe not what you would want more of in a neuralgia situation? Looks like those are the forms of Ca and Mg in that brand of supplement? The excipients don't look great. Not sure about the hydroxyapatite form.

If by diet soda you mean artificial sweeteners, I think some of them also tend to have some exitotoxic effects. Is there a reason you are drinking those instead of juice, milk and the occasional real sugar drink?

Whether you are getting enough calcium and magnesium without supplements probably depends on how much and which veges you are eating. If you are cooking and eating a very large amount of various greens, and drinking the broth too, you might be getting up there. Otherwise, possibly not. If milk or cheese agree with you, would you be able to include more of them? Otherwise, Peat has recommended clean eggshell powder as a reasonable form of supplemental calcium. Personally, I'm using oystershell powder (and Mg carbonate powder at the moment).